Image

FEAR OF BLOGGING CONTINUES TO GO EVERYWHERE!

FEAR OF BLOGGING CONTINUES TO GO EVERYWHERE!

First, to Victoria, where I discovered a new (to me) woman artist. The Victoria film
festival put me up at the elegant Empress Hotel, one of the oldest and most famous hotels
in Victoria, and the classiest place I have ever stayed. But right in front of the hotel is a
statue of a middle aged woman in sensible walking shoes, with a monkey perched on her
back. Who was she, I wanted to know. Oh, silly, provincial me! She was Emily Carr
(1871-1945), merely the most famous woman artist in Canada, and now I know about her.
There’s a lovely graphic novel called “Four Pictures by EMILY CARR,” by Nicolas
Debon, and it’s a very nice introduction to her life and work. Then, at my booksigning at
Legends comics, a very kind man named Jon Blair gave me a copy of Emily Carr’s
journals, called “Hundreds and Thousands: the Journals of an Artist.” You can find out
much more and see her paintings here: http://bcheritage.ca/emilycarrhomework/main.htm.
On to the Victoria film festival for a showing of “Wonder Women: the Untold Story of
American Superheroines,” where the lovely volunteers had dressed like superheroines
just for the showing, and here I am with them.
Hey, San Franciscans and Bay Area people: The Womnder Women film will be showing
at the main branch of the San Francisco public library at 5:45 pm on March 19th, and I’ll
be there along with the film maker, Kristi Guevara-Flanagan, to talk about the film
afterwards. Come see it, you won’t be sorry! And it’s free, as are all films at the SF
public library.

2 responses to “FEAR OF BLOGGING CONTINUES TO GO EVERYWHERE!

  1. I didn’t expect to be scrolling through pictures on the internet and find a picture of my mom… O.O

Leave a Reply

