FEAR OF BLOGGING IS HAPPY…

…Because I hold in my hand an advance copy of my book, Tarpe Mills and MISS FURY, edited and with an introduction by me.  Miss Fury, by June Tarpe Mills, ran in America’s newspapers from 1941 until 1952, and was the first major female superhero created and drawn by a woman. Yes, she beat Wonder Woman to the punch by half a year! This 229 page book (it weighs a ton!) collects the complete Miss Fury Sunday pages from 1944 to 1949 (to my mind, Mills at her best). These pages have never before been reprinted, so now’s your chance to discover for the first time the stylish, lurid, risque, film noir-esque story of Miss Fury — it’s a page-turner! When I took the book out of its packaging, I sat right down with it and reread it from cover to cover.

 

Here’s some of what it says on the back cover:

 

Catfights and crossdressers, mad scientists and spike-heeled dopplegangers, 200-year-old men who look 20, and a one-armed Nazi who can’t be stopped!

 

Oh, and did I mention that the book includes 13 pages of Tarpe Mills’ hitherto unpublished graphic novel, NEVER before seen?!

5 responses to “FEAR OF BLOGGING IS HAPPY…

  1. Very interesting. I can remember once when I was about 12 or so going into my little Brooklyn candy store with my dime for my daily comic fix…staring at the rows of comics hanging on strings on the wall. Must have been late in the month because it took me a while to find a couple that I hadn’t read. One of which was brand new to me… “Miss Fury”, which I thought was pronounced “…Furry” because she was wearing a furry cat suit. I suppose the cover was kind of lurid… I seem to remember there was a whip involved, and I suppose somewhat risque, …although certainly nothing like the above illo. But I was just a nerdy kid so what did I know? Anyway WW’s costume was much skimpier. There was some smirking involved, I recall, by the candy store owner, (I think we all called him “Pop”.) as he got the book down for me.
    Never saw another issue of “Miss Furry” and I have absolutely no other memory of the book’s story or artwork.
    Looks interesting though.

    Cheers,
    Dave

  2. Dave, in all fairness the image on the cover is of art that Tarpe Mills had printed up as a pinup to send to the GIs during the war, when they wrote her asking for a picture. Miss Fury was a big favorite with the troops, and was painted on the nosecone of bombers. Although the newspaper strip gets amazingly risque (I can’t image a comic like that in today’s papers), it was never quite THAT risque!

  3. As we discussed at Spring Con, this is a welcome improvement on past reprints. I have the Archival Press and Pure Imagination editions, but this… this…. wow. Just wow.
    I don’t know when I’ll be able to afford it, but I will submit a purchase request for the MCAD library!
    I do like the way IDW has been handling their reprint series. I hope they’re able to sustain it. Popular wisdom of the time was that sinking too much money into strip reprint books, gorgeous as they can be, was what killed Kitchen Sink as a publisher.

  4. Both those editions, besides being in black and white, reprint the same material — the only Miss Fury material that has ever been seen since the strip first appeared. That’s why I decided the skip that part and start the book in 1944. Yes, the MCAD library should have a copy!

  5. Pingback: First Female Superhero Miss Fury Out in New Book « COMIC BOOK COLLECTORS CLUB

Leave a Reply

