SAVE THE DATES: TRINA’S SEPTEMBER WORLD TOUR!

On Monday, September 13: Oxford, England! I’ll be speaking at the Saïd Business School at the University of Oxford

Title of the seminar: Mothers, Daughters, and the Feminine/Feminist

Here’s the link: http://www.lums.lancs.ac.uk/mmc/intergenerational-perspectives.htm.

And on Tuesday, September 21, 6:30 PM, in London, at the Rag Factory, 16-18 Heneage Street, London E1 5LJ, I’ll be presenting my Powerpoint show and talk, HERE ARE THE GREAT WOMEN COMIC ARTISTS, then signing books. And here’s that link: http://www.comicafestival.com/index.php/site/news/comica_laydeez_

And another link: http://www.nikjep.demon.co.uk/laywhen.htmd/

Two days back from Oxford and London, I’ll be reading from and signing copies of “Forbidden City: the Golden Age of Chinese Nightclubs,” at Sierra Mountain Coffee Roasters/Tomes, 671 Maltman Drive, Grass Valley, CA at 2:00 PM on Saturday, September 25th.

And on September 29, I’ll be at Illusive Comics & Games, signing my new comic, “Honey West” and my new all-ages graphic novel “The Chicagoland Detective Agency” (and whatever you bring for me to sign!) 2725 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, from 4:30 to 8.

http://www.IllusiveComics.com

If you’re in any of these locations, come by, say hello. I give good talks!

FEAR OF BLOGGING WRITES DETECTIVE STORIES!

About the Chicagoland Detective Agency: it’s a 3-part all-ages graphic novel series, which means your kids (or neices and nephews) will like it, and so will you. Here’s a great trailer that the swell folks at Lerners Books put together for it: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mHBEPmC5cIU.

And about Honey West: Honey was the first female private eye on television, in 1965-66, and she predated the cat-suited Emma Peel of The Avengers. She was played beautifully by the lovely Anne Francis. Honey was also the first female private eye in books (no, Miss Marple doesn’t count), appearing in a whole slew o’paperbacks from 1959-1970. She was a kind of female Mickey Spillane, pulpy, hardboiled, and sexy, but in a 1960s kinda way — Honey often got her clothes provocatively ripped, sometimes even lost them, but she never went to bed with anyone.

 

One response to “SAVE THE DATES: TRINA’S SEPTEMBER WORLD TOUR!

  1. HONEY WEST…my all-time favorite TV character; Ms Francis WAS Ms West….which isn’t nearly as good as Ms Honey….NTLess; the black dot (we called the mole) we were sure was Maybelline. I wanted my hair to be her color; but straight 20% HP only took me to orange! Today, I can have any color I want…..every two weeks.

    My heart warms, The Tab Hunter Show pales while we think of Honey West. I’m looking up your text later tonight.!

    Pal and personal ‘remember-er’
    Craig Leavitt

Leave a Reply

